by Hunter Fraser

For the first time in 25 years, the University of Northwestern – St. Paul has restructured its organization into four colleges to better serve its students.

This is the result of a desire to better serve the students. Dr. Jeremy Kolwinska, Dean of the College of Arts & Humanities, shared that the restructuring of the university would improve students’ academic experience at UNW.
“On a day-to-day basis, a student isn’t really going to notice any difference,” said Dr. Kent Kaiser, chair of the communication department. “There will be more natural synergy between departments within colleges.”

Sophomore and Criminal Justice and Psychology major Breanna Bernard believed that UNW’s efforts to create a better infrastructure will be a positive addition. She reasoned, “It could make it more efficient and more accessible for the students.”

This progression began after the academic affairs executive council brought the restructuring concept to faculty and staff through an online survey conducted during the 2012-2013 academic year. The survey revealed overwhelming support with 74.4 percent of faculty strongly agreeing or agreeing with the proposition of restructuring and 92.3 percent of academic staff felt the same. With this information in mind, the cabinet voted on Apr. 10, 2013 concerning the restructuring process, which was unanimously approved. Fifteen days later, the academic affairs committee of the board of trustees also gave strong support.

After much deliberation, prayer and research, UNW created its four colleges on Aug. 1 of 2014: The College of Arts & Humanities, the College of Behavioral and Natural Sciences, the College of Professional Studies and the College of Adult and Graduate Studies. Each division is an umbrella for numerous departments.

Dr. Jeremy Kolwinska has been recognized as the dean of the College of Arts & Humanities. The departments under his jurisdiction include the Art & Design, Communication, English & Literature, History & Related Fields, Music and World Languages.

The College of Behavioral & Natural Sciences is headed by Dr. Dan Crane. This college includes the departments of Biology & Biochemistry, Interdisciplinary Studies, Mathematics & Engineering, Physical Education, Health & Kinesiology and Psychology.

Dr. Rick Thoman leads the College of Professional Studies as dean over the Schools of Business, Education, Nursing and Theology & Ministry. The School of Theology & Ministry is then divided into the Department of Biblical and Theological Studies and the Department of Christian Ministries.

Share Button